Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday - Top Ten Books to read if in the mood for WWII fiction

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & the Bookish

Today's topic is the top ten books to read if in the mood for _____. So I decided to do WWII fiction.

1. The Wings of the Nightingale Series by Sarah Sundin - This trilogy is my first experience with Sarah's books. I loved them. In fact, all of her books are wonderful. For fans of WWII, I highly recommend them.

2. The Zion Covenant Series by Brock & Bodie Thoene - I remember reading this AGES ago, and my mom loved them. They're really good.

3. The Upstairs Room by Johanna Reiss - I read this one in junior high. It's a fictionalized account of the author's own experiences as a Jewish girl in WWII.

4. Saving Amelie by Cathy Gohlke - I adored this book in 2014. It was one of my favorites for the year. This one is about an American woman who travels to Germany and saves the daughter of a friend.

5. Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke - Another one that looks at the war in a different way. But just as moving as some of the others I've read.

6. The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron - Seriously, this was probably my favorite book last year. I love how it's both modern and historical. The sequel to it, Sparrow in Terezin is good too.

7. For Such a Time by Kate Breslin - I read this book before all of the fuss was being made about it. It's a retelling of the story of Esther set in Nazi occupied Czechoslovakia. I thought it was beautifully done and well written. It has since taken a lot of heat because of the fact that it is controversial. Still as much as we like to say it didn't happen, the Holocaust did in fact happen.


 8. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry - I read this one in school. Probably in junior high. It's told through the eyes of a ten year old as she and her family hide a young Jewish girl as part of their family. It also tells of how the Danish Resistance managed to smuggle almost all of Denmark's Jewish population out of the country to Sweden.

9. The Wings of Glory series by Sarah Sundin - Have I mentioned that I love her WWII books? This one is her first series, and it took me several years to read it. But it's very good.

10. Dangerous Allies by Renee Ryan - In this one, Jack's a British agent who must work with Katarina Kerensky, an actress. She's desperate to save her mother from the Gestapo, and will work with Jack. But their lives are in danger. Yes, it's shorter than most. It is supposed to be. But it's still one of my favorite WWII books.


4 comments:

  1. Omg! Number the Stars! I read that as a kid and absolutely loved it. I didn't even know other people have read that one. :) I love The Giver by her as well and that's usually the one people know.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Awww, good topic for TTT this week... I have a short list of books that would have made the list this week.


    Here's a link to my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/03/top-ten-tuesday-eleven-books-to-read-if.html

    ReplyDelete
  3. ooo some of my very faves (as usual) :) I need to add Dangerous Allies to my TBR list for sure! My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sarah Sundin = YES! Her novels are amazing (I'm loving her current series). Oh, and Saving Amelie is really sweet/good/poignant too. :)

    ReplyDelete

I love to read your comments! Feel free to share your thoughts with me and my readers. I will try to reply as I'm able.